Alert! If you receive this message on your WhatsApp, delete it immediately

0
552

A notice has been going round about a new method scammers have devised to deceive unsuspecting members of the public into carting away their money.

It has been announced that Whatsapp users should be on the lookout for a new scam which moves to charge them for using the instant messaging app.

In recent weeks, fake text messages have been received which warned people that their subscription has run out.

The message which also include instructions to receive a lifetime subscription for a small fee are being used by criminals to trick people into providing their payment details.

This is how the message looks

According to Dailymail, this particular form of scam first emerged last month, but reports have been on the increase in the past weeks.
The message reads:

Your subscription has expired. To verify your account and purchase a lifetime subscription for just 0.99 GBP simply tap on this link’.
Although Whatsapp charged 99p after the first year of use when it first launched back in 2010, but this was scrapped. So, anyone that receives this message should delete it immediately.

If you have already clicked on the link, it is advised that you run antivirus software to ensure your device has not been infected with a virus.

It is unclear exactly how many users have been targeted or affected already by the scam.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here